top of page

About me: Part editor, part social media student

I'm transitioning from full-time magazine editor and digital content creator to part-time social media management.



After more than 25 years as an editor of trade publications, I’m now learning social media techniques. I’ll be writing about news, #communications, #socialmedia and #travel as I go through this career transition. Please join me on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn or my blog, and we’ll chat.


Through my work on magazines and courtesy of my employers in publishing, I am skilled at Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint; Adobe InCopy; WordPress and Joomla content management; Twitter; Facebook; Constant Contact and Google Analytics. Not a bad toolkit for social media work.


But I needed to know more about tools and best practices, not filtered through the lens of being an editor. Thus, the social media courses. I'm on my way to a Social Media Certificate from Durham College.

In addition to juggling work and education, I volunteer as communications director for the Durham Region Classic Mustang Club. I sit on the executive board, participate in planning events, produce a monthly e-newsletter, and contribute to the club’s Facebook group. Oh, and frequently attend the club's cruises and events, because they're just a fund group of people, and I love getting out in the convertible.

bottom of page